Title I - Purpose and Schools

The purpose of Title I, Part A of Public Law 107-110 is to enable schools to provide opportunities for children served to acquire the knowledge and skills contained in the challenging state content standards and to meet the challenging state performance standards developed for all children.

This purpose is accomplished by such efforts as:

•providing an enriched and accelerated educational program;
•promoting schoolwide reform through schoolwide programs or
 through additional services that increase the amount and
 quality of instructional time;
•significantly upgrading the quality of instruction by providing
 staff in participating schools with substantial opportunities for
 professional development; and
•affording parents meaningful opportunities to participate in
 the education of their children at home and at school.

A school is classified as a Title I School based on the percentage of students enrolled at the school who are at or below poverty rate as determined by families whose income qualify them for Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits.  The Title I Schools in the Darlington County School District are:

Brockington Elementary Magnet School
Brunson-Dargan Elementary School
Cain Elementary School
Darlington Middle School
Lamar Elementary School
Pate Elementary School
Rosenwald Elementary/Middle School
Southside Early Childhood Center
Spaulding Elementary School
Spaulding Middle School
St. John's Elementary School
Thornwell School For The Arts
Washington Street Elementary School
West Hartsville Elementary School