DCSD announces 2023-24 School Teachers of the Year

DCSD announces 2023-24 School Teachers of the Year
Posted on 05/24/2023
Teacher of the Year

DARLINGTON, S.C. -- Twenty-one teachers will serve as their school's 2023-24 Teacher of the Year after being chosen for the honor by their peers, the Darlington County School District (DCSD) announced today.

The DCSD Teacher of the Year Program honors and awards teachers who exceed expectations to provide meaningful and rewarding learning experiences for the students of Darlington County. The program is dedicated to all teachers who work diligently every day.

“Congratulations to our Teachers of the Year,” said Dr. Tim Newman, superintendent. “They are shining examples of the transformative power that a classroom teacher has on their students’ lives. Their dedication, professionalism, and unwavering commitment to our students and their families inspire us all.”

In a testament to peer-reviewed excellence, each School Teacher of the Year is chosen by their fellow teachers at each respective school. These educators truly stand out in their buildings.

School Teachers of the Year receive a cash stipend and also become members of the DCSD Teacher Forum and the Superintendent's Teacher Advisory Cabinet.

The 2023-24 School Teachers of the Year are:

  • Jacoyzha Brockington, fourth-grade teacher, Bay Road Elementary School
  • Roberta "Diane" Purvis, fourth-grade teacher, Brockington Elementary Magnet School
  • Jessica Farmer, fifth-grade teacher, Carolina Elementary School
  • Antionette Bostic, Math teacher, Darlington High School
  • Fredricka Peterson, sixth-grade math teacher, Darlington Middle School
  • CSM David Lelie, JROTC instructor, Darlington County Intervention School
  • Anthony "Tony" Donovan, Auto Collision instructor, Darlington County Institute of Technology
  • Shelia Wright, teacher, first-grade teacher, Darlington County Virtual Academy
  • Brandi Cook Gammell, social studies teacher, Hartsville High School
  • Miranda Horton, social studies teacher, Hartsville Middle School
  • Jessica Woodson, 5K teacher, J.L. Cain Elementary School
  • Raquel Power Barrera, Spanish teacher, Lamar High School
  • Gabrielle "Briel" White, 5K teacher, Lamar-Spaulding Elementary School
  • Gina Benjamin, Business/Computer Science/Technology teacher, Mayo High School for Math, Science & Technology
  • Grace Lyman, fifth-grade teacher, North Hartsville Elementary School
  • Cindy Glanville, second-grade teacher, Pate Elementary School
  • Kayanna Thomas, Reading Interventionist, Rosenwald Elementary Middle School
  • Stephanie Hall, Exceptional Education teacher, Southside Early Childhood Center
  • Matthew McCary, social studies teacher, Spaulding Middle School
  • Kim Bonnoitt, Reading Recovery teacher, St. John's Elementary School
  • Lisa Todd, fifth-grade teacher, Thornwell School for the Arts

A District Teacher of the Year will be chosen from the pool of school winners and announced later this year.