DCSD honors 2022 STAND Award winners through virtual ceremony

DCSD honors 2022 STAND Award winners through virtual ceremony
Posted on 05/04/2022
STAND Awards logoDARLINGTON, S.C. – Each school in the Darlington County School District, as well as district administration, honored students this week who display exemplary character and take a “STAND” against illicit drug use.

The annual STAND Awards – STAND being an acronym for “Students Taking Action, Not Drugs” - recognized 21 students through a virtual ceremony shared on the school district’s YouTube channel, social media accounts and website. Principals, guidance counselors and teachers each spoke about the students chosen from their respective schools, explaining why these exceptional winners deserved the honor.

The awards are presented to a student from each school who displays positive character, encourages others to live drug-free lifestyles, and seeks to improve in academics and behavior. The ceremony is the culmination of the district’s Drug-Free Schools and Character Education program. Winners are selected by their schools after completing the program.

Kathialena Garcia, a senior at Lamar High School and the school’s STAND Award winner for this year, delivered the ceremony’s keynote address.

Mayo High School for Math, Science and Technology senior Isaiah Davis recited an original poem penned by Mayo English teacher Paulette Lunn. The Hartsville High Foxappella group, under the direction of Liz Olson, gave a vocal performance.

Dr. Tim Newman, DCSD superintendent, offered the ceremony’s welcome, while Dr. Lilkenya Jenkins, DCSD director of state and federal programs, gave performance introductions, and Carlita King, DCSD assistant superintendent for curriculum, instruction and assessment, provided the closing.

The 2021-22 STAND Award winners are:

•   Bethany Johnson, Bay Road Elementary School
•   Krystian Colt Rogers, Brockington Elementary Magnet School
•   KeRiaun McCrea, Carolina Elementary School
•   Joseph Ringer, Darlington County Institute of Technology
•   Annie Hunter, Darlington County Intervention School
•   Gracie Isgett, Darlington County Virtual Academy
•   Indiya Johnson, Darlington High School
•   Aidan Owens, Darlington Middle School
•   Savannah Beasley, Hartsville High School
•.  Myah Reese Harvey, Hartsville Middle School
•   Dre’den Bethea, J.L. Cain Elementary School
•.  Kathialena Inez Garcia, Lamar High School
•.  Phoenix Lilley, Lamar-Spaulding Elementary School
•   Brandon Lashawn Robinson, Mayo High School for Math, Science and Technology
•   Bailee Ramer, North Hartsville Elementary School
•   Rayland Johnson, Pate Elementary School
•.  James Spann, Rosenwald Elementary/Middle School
•   Brinley Bone, Southside Early Childhood Center
•   Blake Alexander Hudson, Spaulding Middle School
•   Christin Oliver, St. John’s Elementary School
•   Leah Purvis, Thornwell School for the Arts