Darlington County School District announces 2015-16 STAND Award winners

Darlington County School District announces 2015-16 STAND Award winners
Posted on 04/12/2016
STAND Awards

DARLINGTON, S.C. – Darlington County School District honored 23 students Friday morning during the 2015-16 STAND Awards ceremony at St. John’s Elementary School.

This event is the annual culmination of the district’s Drug-Free Schools and Character Education program. “STAND” is an acronym for “Students Taking Action, Not Drugs.”

The awards are presented to students after participating in the program and being selected by their schools for displaying positive character, seeking to improve in academics and behavior and encouraging others to live drug-free lifestyles.

School faculty, family and friends attended the ceremony, which featured a keynote address by Frankie Johnson, a Mayo High School for Math, Science and Technology senior and previous STAND Award winner. The St. John’s Elementary School Chorus and Hartsville High School junior Stone Martin gave music performances during the event.

The STAND Award winners are as follows:

  1. Abby Blow, Brockington Elementary Magnet
  2. James Sims, Brunson-Dargan Elementary
  3. Jaylee Carter, Cain Elementary
  4. Triniti Henderson, Carolina Elementary
  5. Trevor Drayton, Darlington County Institute of Technology
  6. Tyshawn Ross, Darlington County Intervention School
  7. Jonathan Turner, Darlington High
  8. Aspen Witherspoon, Darlington Middle
  9. Etienne Fonteneau, Hartsville High
  10. Donald Clark, Hartsville Middle
  11. Jordyn Goode, Lamar Elementary
  12. Reagan Stephens, Lamar High
  13. Benjamin Taylor, Mayo High School for Math, Science and Technology
  14. Chassidy Leonard, North Hartsville Elementary
  15. Natalia Miller, Pate Elementary
  16. Steven Williams, Rosenwald Elementary/Middle School
  17. Dontez McMillan, Southside Early Childhood Center
  18. Caleb Hargrove, Spaulding Elementary
  19. Jaylon Fox, Spaulding Middle
  20. Jaylan Williams, St. John’s Elementary
  21. Jenna Wright, Thornwell School for the Arts
  22. Avery Fulwood, Washington Street Elementary
  23. Chanler Smith, West Hartsville Elementary

Darlington County School District is a countywide district serving more than 10,400 students in 23 schools and Darlington County Adult Education. For more information, please visit www.darlington.k12.sc.us.