Darlington County School District announces 2016-17 School Teachers of the Year

Darlington County School District announces 2016-17 School Teachers of the Year
Posted on 05/23/2016
Teachers of the YearDARLINGTON, S.C. – Twenty-three teachers have been chosen by their schools as the 2016-17 School Teachers of the Year.

The Darlington County Teacher of the Year Program honors and awards those teachers who exceed expectations to provide meaningful and rewarding learning experiences for the students of Darlington County. It is dedicated to all teachers who work diligently every day.

Teachers can volunteer to apply or be nominated. Each applicant completes an extensive application and is interviewed by a panel of judges from his/her school. From these applications and interviews, a School Teacher of the Year is chosen. School Teachers of the Year receive a cash award and are members of the Teacher Forum and the Superintendent’s Advisory Cabinet.

The 2016-17 School Teachers of the Year are:

• Shanita Godfrey, fifth grade, Brockington Elementary Magnet School
• Brittany Johnson, fith grade,Brunson-Dargan Elementary School
• Kimberly Edgerton, kindergarten, Cain Elementary School
• Sarah Andrews, exceptional education, Carolina Elementary School
• Dennis Johnson, auto mechanics, Darlington County Institute of Technology
• Col Johnny Pierce, JROTC, Darlington County Intervention School
• Blaire Goodson, English, Darlington High School
• Aisha Pendergrass, math, Darlington Middle School
• Kari Wilcox, English, Hartsville High School
• Sara Douglas, science, Hartsville Middle School
• Tina Dinkins, first grade, Lamar Elementary School
• Michelle Greene, math, Lamar High School
• Christopher Pietrzak, physical education, Mayo High School for Math, Science & Technology
• Brianna “Bree” Spivey, third grade, North Hartsville Elementary School
• Hanna Hanlin, second grade, Pate Elementary School
• Leslie Starling, first grade, Rosenwald Elementary/Middle School
• Brittanie Tyson, kindergarten, Southside Early Childhood Center
• Shydara Campbell, third grade, Spaulding Elementary School
• Christa Henderson, English/language arts, Spaulding Middle School
• Jessie Addison, first grade, St. John’s Elementary School
• Ellen Oldland, fourth grade, Thornwell School for the Arts
• Jordan Weatherford, first grade,Washington Street Elementary School
• Marlin Ketter, music, West Hartsville Elementary School

These 23 Teachers of the Year will now go on to compete for the Darlington County School District Teacher of the Year.