Hanlin Named DCSD Teacher of the Year, Walters Named District Outstanding First Year Teacher

Hanlin Named DCSD Teacher of the Year, Walters Named District Outstanding First Year Teacher
Posted on 09/22/2016
Hanna HanlinDARLINGTON, S.C. – Hanna Hanlin, a second grade teacher from Pate Elementary School, was named the Darlington County School District’s 2016-17 District Teacher of the Year at the district’s annual Teacher of the Year banquet. Hanlin beat out four other finalists for the top honor.

Andrew Walters, a third grade teacher from Carolina Elementary School, was honored as the Darlington County School District’s Outstanding First Year Teacher.

The Darlington County School District Teacher of the Year program is designed to honor and award teachers who exceed expectations to provide meaningful and rewarding learning experiences. The program is dedicated to all teachers who work diligently every day for their students.

A five-year teaching veteran, Hanlin began her teaching career as a fifth grade teacher at Thornwell School for the Arts. She moved to Pate Elementary in 2014 where she teaches second grade in a multi-grade class setting. She earned her Bachelor of Arts in Elementary Education from the University of South Carolina and her Master of Education in Educational Technology from Lesley University. Hanlin is currently pursuing an Education Specialist in Educational Technology certification. She is an Apple Foundations trainer, a Level 2 Google Certified Educator, a Schoology Master Trainer, an iTunesU Curator, and an Apple Vanguard. Hanlin is a frequent presenter at the district and state level on technology in the classroom.

As the District Teacher of the Year, Hanlin will serve as the District’s Teacher Forum chair-elect, work closely with the Superintendent and administrative staff on teacher-related issues, represent Darlington County teachers on local and state committees, and represent the district at State Teacher Forum functions throughout the year. Hanlin will also go on to compete for the South Carolina Teacher of the Year title.

The district also announced the DCSD 2016-17 Outstanding First Year Teacher (OFYT) Award during Wednesday’s banquet. Andrew Walters, a third grade teacher who teaches English/language arts and social studies at Carolina Elementary School, was chosen for the award. The OFYT award was created to recognize teachers who have excelled and flourished during their first year of teaching. These teachers have demonstrated leadership in their schools and professionalism in their classrooms. Walters was chosen from three finalists, all exceptional teachers. The other two finalists were Ashleigh Chaplin from Pate Elementary School and Kristen Johnson from Darlington High School.

The 2016-17 Honor Roll Teachers are:

• Jessie Addison, first grade, St. John’s Elementary School
• Kimberly Edgerton, kindergarten, Cain Elementary School
• Michelle Greene, mathematics, Lamar High School
• Ellen Oldland, fourth grade, Thornwell School For The Arts

The 2016-17 School Teachers of the Year are:

• Shanita Godfrey, fifth grade, Brockington Elementary Magnet School
• Brittany Johnson, fifth grade, Brunson-Dargan Elementary School
• Sarah Andrews, exceptional education, Carolina Elementary School
• Dennis Johnson, auto mechanics, Darlington County Institute of Technology
• Col. Johnny Pierce, JROTC, Darlington County Intervention School
• Blaire Goodson, English, Darlington High School
• Aisha Pendergrass, math, Darlington Middle School
• Kari Wilcox, English, Hartsville High School
• Sara Douglas, science, Hartsville Middle School
• Tina Dinkins, first grade, Lamar Elementary School
• Christopher Pietrzak, physical education, Mayo High School for Math, Science & Technology
• Brianna “Bree” Spivey, third grade, North Hartsville Elementary School
• Leslie Starling, first grade, Rosenwald Elementary/Middle School
• Brittanie Tyson, kindergarten, Southside Early Childhood Center
• Shydara Campbell, third grade, Spaulding Elementary School
• Christa Henderson, English/language arts, Spaulding Middle School
• Jordan Weatherford, first grade, Washington Street Elementary School
• Scott Bullard, music, West Hartsville Elementary School

Both the Leadership Council and the Teacher Forum participate in leadership opportunities throughout the year and represent their schools at a variety of functions.