Hartsville High School joins innovative school network TransformSC

Hartsville High School joins innovative school network TransformSC
Posted on 10/19/2016
TransformSCHARTSVILLE, S.C. – Hartsville High School is now a member of TransformSC, a statewide network of pioneering institutions, after developing an approved multi-year strategy to promote innovation.

TransformSC, an education initiative of the South Carolina Council on Competitiveness, is a collaboration of business leaders, educators, students, parents and policy makers transforming the public education system so that every student graduates prepared for careers, college and citizenship. TransformSC schools and districts are designing, launching, promoting and proving transformative practices in the classroom.

TransformSC announced this week the acceptance of Hartsville High School into the network, along with five other schools and two school districts. Hartsville High School became the second Darlington County School District school to join TransformSC. Darlington High School joined in May.

“We are proud of Hartsville High School’s efforts and success,” said Dr. Eddie Ingram, Darlington County School District superintendent. “The resources afforded through TransformSC will help ensure we are preparing world-class graduates.”

Dr. Charlie Burry, principal of Hartsville High School, said joining TransformSC reinforces the school’s strategic plan.

“Hartsville High School is pleased to join the TransformSC initiative as we seek to provide our graduates with the knowledge, skills and characteristics that they will need to be prepared for college, careers and citizenship in the 21st century,” Burry said. “We look forward to the innovative thinking promoted by TransformSC having a positive impact on curriculum, instruction and assessment at our school.”

The new TransformSC schools include Hartsville High School, Monarch Elementary School, Swansea High School Freshman Academy, Bates Middle School and R.B. Stall High School. The two joining districts are Lexington County School District Four and Cherokee County School District.

To be accepted into the TransformSC network, Hartsville High School submitted a three-year innovation plan that was evaluated and approved by TransformSC’s Action Team Chairs and staff.

TransformSC schools commit to create a culture of innovation in their schools and to implement some combination of TransformSC’s four innovative practices: project-based learning, blended learning, continuous assessment and competency-based progression, in order to transform learning and teaching for every student and every teacher in every classroom every day. Schools receive a variety of supports and opportunities through participation in the network, including access to national experts, mentorship opportunities with other innovative schools and assistance with the implementation of innovation plans.