Darlington County School District announces 2018-19 School Teachers of the Year

Darlington County School District announces 2018-19 School Teachers of the Year
Posted on 05/22/2018
Teacher of the YearDARLINGTON, S.C. – Twenty-three teachers will serve the 2018-19 school year as their schools’ Teacher of the Year after being chosen for the honor by their peers.

The Darlington County Teacher of the Year Program honors and awards those teachers who exceed expectations to provide meaningful and rewarding learning experiences for the students of Darlington County. The program is dedicated to all teachers who work diligently every day.

Teachers are nominated by their peers. Each nominee completes an extensive application and is interviewed by a panel of judges from his/her school. From these applications and interviews, a School Teacher of the Year is chosen. School Teachers of the Year receive a cash award and become members of the Teacher Forum and the Superintendent’s Advisory Cabinet.

The 2018-19 School Teachers of the Year are:

• Allison Geddings, Brockington Elementary Magnet School
• Rebecca Watson, Brunson-Dargan Elementary School
• Peyton Walsh, Cain Elementary School
• Christina Ewing, Carolina Elementary School
• Daren McKenzie, Darlington County Institute of Technology
• Victor Morales, Darlington County Intervention School
• Frank O’Shea, Darlington High School
• Nicole Grant, Darlington Middle School
• Jaron Sanders, Hartsville High School
• Kim Roos, Hartsville Middle School
• Tina McElveen, Lamar Elementary School
• Kristen Rebollar, Lamar High School
• Nancy Fletcher, Mayo High School for Math, Science & Technology
• Laura Privette, North Hartsville Elementary School
• Melissa Morris, Pate Elementary School
• Whitney Williams, Rosenwald Elementary/Middle School
• Melissa McLain, Southside Early Childhood Center
• Amber Atkins, Spaulding Elementary School
• Lamonte Curry, Spaulding Middle School
• Kimm Mack, St. John’s Elementary School
• Ellen Blackwell, Thornwell School for the Arts
• Rhonda Bailey, Washington Street Elementary School
• Sarah Davidson, West Hartsville Elementary School